28.09.2022
Titelblatt themenbote Medizin zu Seltenen Erkrankungen
INTERVIEW

"There is a lack of role models and research funding"

In an interview with 'themenbote medizin', Sanna Börgel, Managing Director of Alliance4Rare gGmbH, introduces the initiative of the Eva Luise and Horst Köhler Foundation and explains how the civil society alliance intends to launch a visionary care and research network for rare diseases and thus advance the development of modern therapeutic approaches.

Mrs. Börgel, what exactly is the Alliance4Rare?

The Alliance4Rare is an alliance of non-profit foundations, donors and scientists. For the first time, it links research-intensive institutions in pediatric and adolescent medicine along a research strategy for rare diseases that has been agreed upon across all locations. This is new in this country and is intended to bring together the most urgent medical needs with promising therapeutic approaches as quickly as possible. The Alliance4Rare considers itself a bridge builder between the growing possibilities of modern medicine and the immense need for research on rare diseases.

How did the Alliance4Rare come to be founded?

The initiative came from the Eva Luise and Horst Köhler Foundation. Mrs. Köhler has been committed to the "orphans of medicine" for almost twenty years. She knows their plight. The great need for research is obvious. In the meantime, completely new treatment options have emerged thanks to modern precision medicine. Now we need consistent investment in pediatric research.

Who is supporting the initiative?

The Alliance4Rare will raise the necessary funds through donations and funding partnerships. We are very grateful that Friede Springer gGmbH is very generously supporting the launch of our research network. But we need more supporters so that the research network can grow from currently three locations nationwide.

Which gap does the research network close?

The Alliance focuses on rare diseases that manifest themselves very early and develop particularly severely. Through targeted support measures, we want to encourage pediatricians to deal with these diseases in science and care on a permanent basis. So we are trying to do more than fill one gap. Ultimately, the aim is to ensure that seriously ill children can participate in medical progress.

How do you intend to proceed?

It was obvious to us that we need to move away from "watering cans" and towards structures that allow sustainable networking of pediatric sites with strong research capabilities. That is why we are installing "Clinician Scientist for Rare" programs. These offer targeted mentoring and protected research time in which participants can intensively work on rare diseases.

Why are these measures needed?

In order to bring new scientific findings quickly into application despite low case numbers, research and patient care must move closer together. Children with rare diseases need pediatricians who do not shy away from the balancing act between laboratory and bedside. Only they are trained to conduct studies with children. They enjoy the trust of the families and, thanks to their clinical experience, are in a position to raise the relevant questions and identify new correlations. Unfortunately, the number of scientific publications in the field of pediatrics has been declining for years.

What is the reason for this?

Pediatric research has a junior researcher problem that is due to several factors: lack of role models, lack of backing, and lack of research funding. It is increasingly difficult for young scientists to balance research activities with the highly compressed clinical routine. Many give up at some point and decide to settle down, which promises a better work-life balance. And those who actually want to make a career in research often turn to another field sooner or later. Significantly better-paid research areas include cardiovascular diseases, dementia and cancer.

What are the research priorities of the Alliance4Rare?

The scientific focus is on projects that are urgent for the survival as well as the quality of life of the patients and have a high innovation potential. The projects can be assigned to four program lines: Prevent, Rare2Common, Innocure, Cope&Hope.

Prevent refers to research into the early detection and secondary prevention of rare diseases. Rare2Common aims to research rare diseases with regard to their - often underestimated - importance for common diseases. Innocure is concerned with the targeted development of innovative therapies for rare diseases within the framework of proof-of-concept studies with small case numbers. And Cope&Hope is dedicated to care research on supportive interventions for unexplained diseases without treatment options. The first program call is currently underway. We are very excited to see which applications will be submitted.

You are also working with the Berlin Institute of Health (BIH). What is that all about?

We cooperate with the BIH in the management of tenders and the implementation of the summer schools. Above all, however, in the diagnosis of patients who have not yet been diagnosed with any certainty. For these particularly challenging cases of our site partners, BIH offers a new structured approach to molecular and clinical in-depth analysis with the method platform CADS.

What is the role of ACHSE in the Alliance4Rare?

ACHSE e. V. was already closely involved in the conception phase and continuously contributes the patient perspective, which is always important to us, to all decision-making processes.

Is the Alliance4Rare also internationally connected?

Not yet, that will come. International research partners can be integrated into the research network as of now within the framework of project collaboration. We are planning organic growth.


Newsletter subscription
Our free newsletter informs you four times a year about current calls for proposals, events and projects on rare diseases.

28.09.2022
Titelblatt themenbote Medizin zu Seltenen Erkrankungen
INTERVIEW

"Es fehlen Vorbilder und Forschungsgelder"

Im Interview mit 'themenbote medizin' stellt Sanna Börgel, Geschäftsführerin der Alliance4Rare gGmbH, die Initiative der Eva Luise und Horst Köhler Stiftung vor und erläutert, wie das zivilgesellschaftliche Bündnis ein visionäres Versorgungs- und Forschungsnetzwerk für Seltene Erkrankungen auf den Weg bringen und so die Entwicklung moderner Therapieansätze vorantreiben will.

Frau Börgel, was genau ist die Alliance4Rare?

Die Alliance4Rare ist ein Bündnis gemeinnütziger Stiftungen, SpenderInnen und WissenschaftlerInnen. Es vernetzt forschungsstarke Einrichtungen der Kinder- und Jugendmedizin erstmals entlang einer standortübergreifend konsentierten Forschungsstrategie für Seltene Erkrankungen. Das ist hierzulande neu und soll die dringendsten medizinischen Bedarfe schnellstmöglich mit aussichtsreichen Therapieansätzen zusammenführen. Die Alliance4Rare versteht sich als Brückenbauerin zwischen den wachsenden Möglichkeiten moderner Medizin und dem immensen Forschungsbedarf zu Seltenen Erkrankungen.

Wie kam es zur Gründung der Alliance4Rare?

Die Initiative ging von der Eva Luise und Horst Köhler Stiftung aus. Frau Köhler engagiert sich seit bald zwanzig Jahren für die „Waisen der Medizin“. Sie kennt deren Notlage. Der große Forschungsbedarf liegt auf der Hand. Mittlerweile haben sich dank moderner Präzisionsmedizin völlig neue Behandlungsoptionen ergeben. Jetzt brauchen wir konsequente Investitionen in die pädiatrische Forschung.

Wer unterstützt die Initiative?

Die notwendigen Mittel wird die Alliance4Rare durch Spenden und Förderpartnerschaften einwerben. Wir sind sehr dankbar, dass die Friede Springer gGmbH den Start unseres Forschungsnetzwerks sehr großzügig fördert. Aber wir brauchen weitere Unterstützer:innen, damit das Forschungsnetzwerk aus aktuell drei Standorten bundesweit wachsen kann.

Welche Lücke schließt das Forschungsnetzwerk?

Das Bündnis fokussiert auf Seltene Erkrankungen, die sich sehr früh manifestieren und besonders schwerwiegend entwickeln. Durch gezielte Fördermaßnahmen wollen wir Kinderärzt:innen ermutigen, sich in Wissenschaft und Versorgung dauerhaft mit diesen Erkrankungen zu beschäftigen. Wir versuchen also, mehr als eine Lücke zu schließen. Letztlich geht es darum, schwerkranken Kindern Teilhabe am medizinischen Fortschritt zu sichern.

Wie wollen Sie dabei vorgehen?

Uns war klar: Wir müssen weg von der Gießkanne und hin zu Strukturen, die eine nachhaltige Vernetzung forschungsstarker Standorte in der Kinderheilkunde erlauben. Deshalb installieren wir "Clinician Scientist for Rare“-Programme. Diese bieten gezieltes Mentoring und geschützte Forschungszeiten, in denen sich die Teilnehmenden intensiv mit Seltenen Erkrankungen beschäftigen können.

Warum sind diese Maßnahmen erforderlich?

Um neue wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse trotz geringer Fallzahlen schnell in die Anwendung zu bringen, müssen Forschung und Krankenversorgung eng zusammenrücken. Kinder mit Seltenen Erkrankungen brauchen Pädiater:innen, die den Spagat zwischen Labor und Krankenbett nicht scheuen. Nur sie sind für die Durchführung von Studien mit Kindern ausgebildet. Sie genießen das Vertrauen der betroffenen Familien und sind durch ihre klinische Erfahrung in der Lage, die relevanten Fragen zu formulieren und neue Zusammenhänge zu erkennen. Leider sinkt seit Jahren die Zahl der wissenschaftlichen Publikationen im Bereich der Kinderheilkunde.

Wie erklären Sie sich das?

Die pädiatrische Forschung hat ein Nachwuchsproblem, das mehrere Ursachen hat: fehlende Vorbilder, fehlende Rückendeckung und fehlende Forschungsgelder. Für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs ist es zunehmend schwierig, Forschungsaktivitäten mit dem stark verdichteten klinischen Alltag in Einklang zu bringen. Viele geben irgendwann auf und entscheiden sich für die Niederlassung, die eine bessere Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie verspricht. Und wer tatsächlich in der Forschung Karriere machen will, wendet sich häufig früher oder später einem anderen Fachbereich zu. Deutlich besser dotierte Forschungsbereiche sind beispielsweise Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen, Demenz oder Krebs.

Was sind die Forschungsschwerpunkte der Alliance4Rare?

Die wissenschaftlichen Schwerpunkte liegen auf Projekten, die für das Überleben sowie die Lebensqualität der Betroffenen vordringlich sind und ein hohes Innovationspotenzial haben. Die Projekte lassen sich vier Programmlinien zuordnen: Prevent, Rare2Common, Innocure, Cope&Hope.

Prevent steht für Forschung zu Früherkennung und Sekundärprävention von Seltenen Erkrankungen. Rare2Common soll Seltene Erkrankungen hinsichtlich ihrer – oft unterschätzten – Bedeutung für häufige Krankheiten erforschen. Innocure kümmert sich um die gezielte Entwicklung innovativer Therapien für Seltene Erkrankungen im Rahmen von Proof-of-Concept-Studien mit kleinen Fallzahlen. Und Cope&Hope widmet sich der Versorgungsforschung zu unterstützenden Maßnahmen bei ungeklärten Erkrankungen ohne Therapieoptionen. Die erste Programmausschreibung läuft derzeit. Wir sind sehr gespannt, welche Anträge eingereicht werden.

Außerdem arbeiten Sie mit dem Berlin Institute of Health (BIH) zusammen. Worum geht es dabei?

Wir kooperieren mit dem BIH beim Ausschreibungsmanagement und der Durchführung der Summer Schools. Vor allem aber bei der Diagnostik von Patient:innen, bei denen bisher keine gesicherten Diagnosen gestellt werden konnten. Für diese besonders anspruchsvollen Fälle unserer Standortpartner bietet das BIH mit der Methodenplatt- form CADS einen neuen strukturierten Ansatz zur molekularen und klinischen Tiefenanalytik.

Welche Rolle kommt der ACHSE in der Alliance4Rare zu?

Die ACHSE e. V. war schon in der Konzeptionsphase eng mit eingebunden und bringt in allen Entscheidungsprozessen kontinuierlich die für uns immer wichtige Patientenperspektive mit ein.

Ist die Alliance4Rare auch international vernetzt?

Derzeit noch nicht, das wird kommen. Internationale Forschungspartner können ab sofort im Rahmen der Projektzusammenarbeit in das Forschungsnetz integriert werden. Wir planen ein organisches Wachstum.


Newsletter Anmeldung
Unser kostenloser Newsletter informiert Sie viermal im Jahr über aktuelle Ausschreibungen, Veranstaltungen und Projekte zu Seltenen Erkrankungen.