27.06.2022
Spielfiguren vernetzt auf Spielfeld
NATIONAL REGISTER FOR RARE DISEASES - NARSE

"A decision with foresight"

Innovation Fund supports FAIR4Rare, the accompanying evaluation for a National Registry for Rare Diseases 

The Innovation Committee at the Federal Joint Committee (G-BA) is funding FAIR4Rare as one of 32 new projects in the field of health services research. It supports the accompanying evaluation of the development process for an open National Registry for Rare Diseases (NARSE). 

"Particularly in the case of rare diseases, we are dependent on digitally networked data across institutions. This brings together the small number of cases and provides important findings from research and care," says Dr. Josef Schepers, coordinator of FAIR4Rare at the Core Unit eHealth and Interoperability of the Berlin Institute of Health at the Charité (BIH), explaining the background to the project and emphasizing: "But only if the data can be found, accessed, interoperable and reusable - in short, correspond to the FAIR-Principals  the findings can be rapidly developed into much-needed therapies in a targeted manner." 

The pilot phase of the National Registry NARSE, initiated by the Eva Luise and Horst Köhler Foundation (ELHKS) with the aim of improving the care of patients with rare diseases, is currently underway. Starting with selected, potentially treatable ultra-rare diseases, the registry aims to increase the visibility of the disease burden of the "orphans of medicine". In addition, patients will be able to network and participate more easily in medical progress thanks to better information.  

In the accompanying evaluation project FAIR4Rare, funded by the Innovation Committee, the project partners from health services research, hospitals, registry operators and patient organizations, led by Dr. Schepers at the Berlin Institute of Health, will examine over a period of 30 months the extent to which the registry meets with acceptance among users and which further developments are necessary to meet the special needs of patients with rare diseases. In addition to surveying users of the registry, it is important to compare data from the Medical Informatics Initiative (MII) and the well-established German Cystic Fibrosis Registry.  

"The accompanying evaluation is essential for the success of NARSE," emphasizes Prof. Dr. Annette Grüters-Kieslich, Chair of the ELHKS. "With the knowledge of what worked well in the test phase and where we can still improve, we will be able to optimize the registry and successfully expand it to other diseases. The Innovation Committee's funding of FAIR4Rare is truly a decision with foresight!"  

This assessment is shared by Prof. Dr. Christopher Baum, Chairman of the BIH Board of Directors and Board Member for Translational Research at Charité. BIH aims to operate and further develop the NARSE registry following the pilot phase during the evaluation period. Because Prof. Baum is convinced: "Sharing data is the prerequisite for medical progress. NARSE and FAIR4Rare can make an important qualitative and quantitative contribution here, so that translation in the field of rare diseases succeeds."

More information about the NARSE project: NARSE – Nationales Register für SE - Eva Luise und Horst Köhler Stiftung (elhks.d


Newsletter subscription
Our free newsletter informs you four times a year about current calls for proposals, events and projects on rare diseases.

27.06.2022
Spielfiguren vernetzt auf Spielfeld
NATIONALES REGISTER FÜR SELTENE ERKRANKUNGEN - NARSE

“Entscheidung mit Weitsicht”

Innovationsfonds fördert mit FAIR4Rare die begleitende Evaluation für ein Nationales Register für Seltene Erkrankungen 

Der Innovationsausschuss beim Gemeinsamen Bundesausschuss (G-BA) fördert FAIR4Rare als eines von 32 neuen Projekten im Bereich der Versorgungsforschung. Unterstützt wird die begleitende Evaluation des Aufbauprozesses für ein offenes Nationales Register für Seltene Erkrankungen (NARSE). 

“Gerade bei den Seltenen Erkrankungen sind wir einrichtungsübergreifend auf digital vernetzte Daten angewiesen. Diese führen die geringen Fallzahlen zusammen und liefern wichtige Erkenntnisse aus Forschung und Versorgung”, erläutert Dr. Josef Schepers, Koordinator von FAIR4Rare an der Core Unit eHealth and Interoperability des Berlin Institute of Health in der Charité (BIH) den Hintergrund des Vorhabens und betont: “Aber nur wenn die Daten auffindbar, zugänglich, interoperabel und wiederverwendbar sind – kurz: den FAIR-Prinzipien  entsprechen – können die Erkenntnisse schnell und zielgerichtet zu den so dringend benötigten Therapien entwickelt werden.” 

Derzeit läuft die Pilotphase des Nationalen Registers NARSE, das von der Eva Luise und Horst Köhler Stiftung (ELHKS) mit dem Ziel angestoßen worden war, die Versorgung von Patient:innen mit Seltenen Erkrankungen zu verbessern. Beginnend für ausgewählte, potenziell behandelbare ultraseltene Krankheitsformen soll das Register die Sichtbarkeit der Krankheitslast der “Waisen der Medizin” erhöhen. Zudem sollen Patient:innen die Möglichkeit erhalten, sich zu vernetzen und dank besserer Informationen leichter am medizinischen Fortschritt teilhaben zu können.  

Im begleitenden, vom Innovationsausschuss geförderten Evaluationsprojekt FAIR4Rare überprüfen die Projektpartner aus Versorgungsforschung, Klinik, Registerbetreibern und Patient:innenorganisationen unter Leitung von Dr. Schepers am Berlin Institute of Health über einen Zeitraum von 30 Monaten, inwiefern das Register auf Akzeptanz bei den Nutzenden trifft und welche Weiterentwicklungen notwendig sind, um den besonderen Belangen von Patient:innen mit Seltenen Erkrankungen gerecht zu werden. Wichtig sind dabei neben der Befragung von Nutzenden des Registers auch der Vergleich mit Datenbeständen aus der Medizininformatik-Initiative (MII) sowie dem gut etablierten Deutschen Mukoviszidose-Register.  

“Die begleitende Evaluation ist für den Erfolg von NARSE essentiell”, unterstreicht Prof. Dr. Annette Grüters-Kieslich, Vorsitzende der ELHKS. “Mit dem Wissen, was in der Testphase gut funktioniert hat und wo wir noch besser werden können, werden wir das Register optimieren und erfolgreich auf weitere Erkrankungen ausweiten können. Die Förderung von FAIR4Rare durch den Innovationsausschuss ist wirklich eine Entscheidung mit Weitsicht!”  

Diese Einschätzung teilt auch Prof. Dr. Christopher Baum, Vorsitzender des BIH-Direktoriums und Vorstand für den Translationsforschungsbereich der Charité. Das BIH strebt an, das NARSE-Register im Anschluss an die Pilotphase während der Laufzeit der Evaluation zu betreiben und weiterzuentwickeln. Denn Prof. Baum ist überzeugt: “Daten zu teilen ist die Voraussetzung für den medizinischen Fortschritt. NARSE und FAIR4Rare können hier qualitativ und quantitativ einen wichtigen Beitrag leisten, damit Translation im Bereich der Seltenen Erkrankungen gelingt.”

Weitere Informationen zum Projekt NARSE: NARSE – Nationales Register für SE - Eva Luise und Horst Köhler Stiftung (elhks.d


Newsletter Anmeldung
Unser kostenloser Newsletter informiert Sie viermal im Jahr über aktuelle Ausschreibungen, Veranstaltungen und Projekte zu Seltenen Erkrankungen.