ALLIANCE4RARE

Together for a
healthier future

Gemeinsam arbeiten wir 
 an einer gesünderen 
 Zukunft

The Alliance4Rare combines the expertise of research-strong university children's hospitals with the creative power of sponsoring partners. Together, we pave the way for the development of innovative therapeutic approaches for rare diseases. Our mission: to enable medical progress where it is needed most.
Every year, at least 1,000 children and adolescents die in Germany from rare diseases that have not yet been adequately researched. At the same time, a new era in medicine is being heralded: Increasingly, doctors are learning to intervene in the underlying pathomechanisms of a disease. In individual cases, one can already speak of healing.

The Alliance4Rare views itself as a bridge between the rapidly developing possibilities of modern medicine and the immense need for research in pediatrics. The research network initially comprises three university partners in Berlin, Dresden and Göttingen. It is to be rapidly developed into a nationwide care and research structure for rare diseases.

For this we need you! Support the Alliance4Rare, so that children and young people with rare diseases can participate in the "medicine of tomorrow".
SUPPORT ALLIANCE4RARE
DID YOU KNOW THAT
...at least 1,000 children and adolescents die every year in Germany from rare diseases that have not yet been adequately researched so far?
FUTURE MODEL FOR PEDIATRIC RESEARCH
Alliance4Rare - a visionary care and research network for rare diseases
The Alliance4Rare research network combines the expertise of leading institutions in pediatric and adolescent medicine along a consensus research strategy for rare diseases. This new approach connects the most urgent medical needs with promising therapeutic approaches. By implementing these strongly needed cross-location structures, which are to be expanded in the future through further network and funding partners, the Alliance4Rare strengthens the entire research area in the long term.
Scientific work and patient care are inseparable tasks in the field of rare diseases. Therefore, the university children's hospitals associated as founding partners are characterized by an excellent infrastructure and proven expertise both in research and clinical practice. This requires physicians who are not afraid of balancing between laboratory and bedside. That is why the Alliance4Rare funding partners invest not only in research programs, but also in the urgently needed next generation of scientists with Clinician Scientists/Advanced Clinician Scientists programs.
  • Intensive cooperation with other sites
  • Compatibility of clinical and scientific activities
  • Cross-location offers for education and training
Logo Universitätsmedizin Göttingen
Proven expertise in research on rare diseases
Complementary focal points
Collaboration in innovative care projects
Established NAMSE Type A centers
Access to innovative research infrastructure
Embedding in European Reference Networks (ERNs)
Specialized structures for clinical research
Active networking of research data
FUNDING PARTNERS
RESEARCH PROGRAMS
Scientific Priorities
Scientific Priorities The scientific priorities of the Alliance4Rare focus on projects that are urgent for the survival as well as the quality of life of the people affected and have a high innovation potential. Continous exchange with ACHSE e.V. ensures the inclusion of the patient’s perspective.
Overview
of research focus
Icon Blutanalyse

PREVENT

Research for early detection and secondary prevention of rare diseases and the exploration of diseases without a confirmed diagnosis.
Icon Mikroskop

RARE2COMMON

Research on rare diseases with relevance to common diseases in order to discover new therapeutic approaches.

INNOCURE

Selective development of innovative therapies for rare diseases within the framework of proof-of-concept studies with small case numbers.

COPE&HOPE

Health Services research on supportive interventions for rare and unexplained diseases without specific treatment options.

CADS

Platform that provides patients without a confirmed diagnosis suffering from a potentially rare or complex disease with a new structured approach to molecular and clinical in-depth analysis and individual case consultation.
We support research
Ensuring that medical progress reaches everyone
Since 2021, on the initiative of the Eva Luise and Horst Köhler Foundation, an alliance of non-profit foundations, donors and scientists has been working together for a visionary care and research network for rare diseases.

Alliance4Rare's funding partners invest in research where medical progress is needed most: in pediatrics.

Children and adolescents are affected to a particular extent by fatal diseases that have not been adequately researched due to their rarity. If you would like to help pave the way to a healthier future for the "orphans of medicine," please contact us.

Dr. phil. Franziska Krause

Program Manager
+49 (0) 151 5082 7392krause@elhks.de
IHRE SPENDE

Help the 
orphans of medicine!

Donation account
Eva Luise and Horst Köhler Foundation for
People with Rare Diseases
Sparkasse KölnBonn
IBAN DE83 3705 0198 1901 4480 17
BIC COLSDE33X
Get active now
Newsletter subscription
Our free newsletter informs you four times a year about current calls for proposals, events and projects on rare diseases.

Alliance4rare

Gemeinsam arbeiten wir an einer 
 gesünderen Zukunft

Gemeinsam arbeiten wir 
 an einer gesünderen 
 Zukunft

Die Alliance4Rare vernetzt die Expertise forschungsstarker Universitätskinderkliniken mit dem Gestaltungswillen fördernder Partner:innen. Gemeinsam ebnen wir der Entwicklung innovativer Therapieansätze für Seltene Erkrankungen den Weg. Unsere Mission: Medizinischen Fortschritt dort ermöglichen, wo er am dringendsten gebraucht wird.
Jedes Jahr sterben in Deutschland mindestens 1.000 Kinder und Jugendliche an seltenen, bisher nur unzureichend erforschten Krankheiten. Gleichzeitig kündigt sich eine Zeitenwende in der Medizin an: In einem zunehmendem Maße lernen Ärzt:innen, korrigierend in die einer Krankheit zugrundeliegenden Pathomechanismen einzugreifen. In Einzelfällen darf man bereits von Heilung sprechen.

Die Alliance4Rare versteht sich als Brücke zwischen den sich schnell entwickelnden Möglichkeiten moderner Medizin und dem immensen Forschungsbedarf in der Kinderheilkunde. Das Forschungsnetzwerk umfasst bei Gründung vorerst drei universitäre Standortpartner:innen in Berlin, Dresden und Göttingen. Es soll zügig zu einer bundesweiten Versorgungs- und Forschungsstruktur für Seltene Erkrankungen weiterentwickelt werden.

Dazu brauchen wir Sie! Unterstützen Sie die Alliance4Rare, damit Kinder und Jugendliche mit Seltenen Erkrankungen an der "Medizin von morgen" teilhaben können.
Alliance4Rare unterstützen
Wussten Sie, dass...
…jedes Jahr in Deutschland mindestens 1.000 Kinder und Jugendliche an seltenen, bisher unzureichend erforschten Krankheiten sterben?
ZUKUNFTSMODELL DER PÄDIATRISCHEN FORSCHUNG
Alliance4Rare – ein visionäres Versorgungs- und Forschungsnetzwerk für Seltene Erkrankungen
Das Forschungsnetzwerk der Alliance4Rare bündelt die Expertise führender Einrichtungen der universitären Kinder- und Jugend-medizin entlang einer standortübergreifend konsentierten Forschungsstrategie für Seltene Erkrankungen. Das ist hierzu-lande neu und zielt darauf ab, die dringendsten medizinischen Bedarfe („urgent medical needs“) mit aussichtsreichen Therapieansätzen zusammenzuführen. Durch die Implemen-tierung dieser dringend notwendigen standort-übergreifenden Strukturen, die perspektivisch durch weitere Netzwerk- und Förderpartner:innen ausgebaut werden sollen, stärkt die Alliance4Rare nachhaltig den gesamten Forschungsbereich.
Wissenschaftliches Arbeiten und die Versorgung von Patient:innen sind bei Seltenen Erkrankungen untrennbare Aufgaben. Daher zeichnen sich die als Gründungspartner assoziierten Universitätskinderkliniken durch eine hervorragende Infrastruktur und ausgewiesene Expertise in Forschung und Klinik aus. Das setzt Ärzt:innen voraus, die den Spagat zwischen Labor und Krankenbett nicht scheuen. Deshalb investieren die Förderpartner:innen der Alliance4Rare nicht nur in Forschungsprogramme, sondern auch in den dringend benötigten wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs durch ein Clinician Scientists/ Advanced Clinician Scientists Programm aus.
  • Intensive Kooperation mit anderen Standorten
  • Vereinbarkeit von klinischer und wissenschaftlicher Tätigkeit
  • Standortübergreifende Angbeote für Aus- und Weiterbildung
Logo Universitätsmedizin Göttingen
Ausgewiesene Expertise in der Forschung zu SE
Komplementäre Schwerpunkte
Zusammenarbeit in innovativen Versorgungsprojekten
Etablierte NAMSE Typ-A-Zentren
Ausgewiesene Expertise in der Forschung zu SE
Komplementäre Schwerpunkte
Zusammenarbeit in innovativen Versorgungsprojekten
Etablierte NAMSE Typ-A-Zentren
Förderpartner:Innen
FORSCHUNGSPROGRAMME
Wissenschaftliche Schwerpunkte
Die wissenschaftlichen Schwerpunkte der Alliance4Rare fokussieren auf Projekte, die für das Überleben sowie die Lebensqualität der Betroffenen vordringlich sind
und ein hohes Innovationspotential haben.
Der Austausch mit Achse e.V. soll dabei die unbedingte Einbeziehung der Betroffenenperspektive fördern.
Forschungsschwerpunkte
im Überblick
Icon Blutanalyse

Prevent

Forschung zu Früherkennung und Sekundärprävention von Seltenen Erkrankungen und die Aufklärung von Krankheiten ohne gesicherte Diagnose.
Icon Mikroskop

Rare2Common

Erforschung Seltener Erkrankungen mit  Bedeutung für häufige Krankheiten, um Therapieansätze zu entdecken, die im Krankheitsmodell nicht erkennbar sind.

InnoCure

Gezielte Entwicklung innovativer Therapienfür Seltene Erkrankungen  im Rahmen von Proof-of-Concept-Studien mit kleinen Fallzahlen.

Cope&Hope

Versorgungsforschung zu unterstützenden Maßnahmen bei seltenen und ungeklärten Krankheiten ohne gezielte Behandlungsoption.

CADS

Plattform, die Patient:innen ohne gesicherte Diagnose, die an einer potenziell seltenen oder komplexen Erkrankung leiden, einen neuen strukturierten Ansatz zur molekularen und klinischen Tiefenanalytik sowie individuellen Fallberatung bietet.
Wir fördern Forschung
Damit der medizinische Fortschritt alle erreicht
Seit 2021 formiert sich auf Initiative der Eva Luise und Horst Köhler Stiftung ein Bündnis gemeinnütziger Stiftungen, Sperder:innen und Wissenschaftler:innen, die sich gemeinsam für ein visionäres Versorgungs- und Forschungsnetzwerk für Seltene Erkrankungen einsetzen.

Die Förderpartner der Alliance4Rare investieren dort in Forschung, wo medizinischer Fortschritt am dringendsten gebraucht wird: In der Kinderheilkunde.

Kinder und Jugendliche sind in einem besonderen Ausmaß von fatalen Krankheiten betroffen, die aufgrund ihrer Seltenheit bisher nicht ausreichend erforscht wurden. Wenn Sie dazu beitragen wollen, den „Waisen der Medizin“ den Weg in eine gesündere Zukunft zu ebnen, sprechen Sie uns gerne an.

Dr. phil. Franziska Krause

Programmleitung
+49 (0) 151 5082 7392krause@www.elhks.de
IHRE SPENDE

Helfen Sie den 
Waisen der Medizin!

Spendenkonto
Eva Luise und Horst Köhler Stiftung für
Menschen mit Seltenen Erkrankungen
Sparkasse KölnBonn
IBAN DE83 3705 0198 1901 4480 17
BIC COLSDE33X
Jetzt aktiv werden
Newsletter Anmeldung
Unser kostenloser Newsletter informiert Sie viermal im Jahr über aktuelle Ausschreibungen, Veranstaltungen und Projekte zu Seltenen Erkrankungen.