The people 
commited to the foundation

Our foundation work lives from people who act out of deep conviction and invest their knowledge and time to sustainably improve the medical care of children and adults with a rare disease. The committees of the Eva Luise and Horst Köhler Foundation work purely on a voluntary basis.

Executive Board

Portrait Prof. Dr. Annette Grüters-Kieslich

Prof. Dr. med. Annette Grüters-Kieslich

Prof. Dr. med. Annette Grüters-Kieslich setzt sich als forschungsorientierte Kinder- und Jugendärztin schon seit Studientagen für eine bessere medizinische Versorgung von Patientinnen und Patienten mit Seltenen Erkrankungen ein – egal, ob am Krankenbett, in Labor, Hörsaal, Hochschulverwaltung oder in einem ihrer vielen Ehrenämter. 

After heading various medical institutions and holding positions as Dean of the University Medical Center Berlin and Senior Medical Director of the University Hospital Heidelberg, Annette Grüters-Kieslich, now retired, is again conducting research as a visiting scientist at the Charité Berlin. Her research focuses on rare congenital developmental disorders, pathophysiology and treatment of rare childhood obesity, and epigenetic regulation of developmentally important genes. 

As Chair of the Board of our Foundation, she has been the strategic head of our diverse initiatives since 2013. She is also active in an honorary capacity as a member of the DFG Senate Commission for Clinical Research, Vice President of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW), member of the Medical Sciences Committee of Science Europe and Vice President of the All European Academies (ALLEA).
Portrait Achim Schroeter

Achim Schroeter

Achim Schroeter hat, wie die Stifterfamilie, persönliche Bezüge zum Thema und gehörte 2006 als ehemaliger Verwaltungsleiter des Deutschen Sparkassen- und Giroverbands zu den Gründungsvätern der Stiftung. Seither wirkt er mit Umsicht in deren Vorstand mit. Hier zeichnet er insbesondere für juristische und administrative Fragen und die Verwaltung des Stiftungsvermögens sowie der Spenden- und Fördermittel verantwortlich.
Gruppenbild Stiftungsrat

Foundation Council

Eva Luise Köhler (Chairwoman)

Dr. Ulrike Kristina Köhler

Literary scholar and honorary jury member of the HanseMerkur Prize for Child Protection

Dr. med. Herbert Bauer

Retired ear, nose and throat specialist

Ortwin Guhl

Retired Chairman of the Board of Directors of Sparkasse Tuttlingen, Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Church Aid Fund of the Diocese of Rottenburg-Stuttgart, Member of the Board of Trustees of the World Heritage Site Insel Reichenau

Dietmar Kokott

Retired Global Head of Human Resources for Senior Leadership at BASF SE, Retired Vice Chairman of the Human Resources Global Council, Retired Chairman of the Board of Executive Directors and Member of the Board of Trustees of the Wittenberg Center for Global Ethics, Member of the Advisory Board of the Leadership Excellence Institute at Zeppelin University, Friedrichshafen, Germany

Scientific advisory council

The Eva Luise and Horst Köhler Foundation has been cooperating for many years with the scientific advisory council of ACHSE e.V., which is responsible for screening, evaluating, and preselecting the incoming applications for the Eva Luise Köhler Research Award.

Other renowned scientists support us with their expertise and expert opinions when necessary, e.g. when awarding scholarships.


Portrait Sanna Börgel

Sanna Börgel

Stiftungsleitung, Geschäftsführung Alliance4Rare

+49 (0) 151 4129 7774

Fransiska Krause Portrait

Dr. phil. Franziska Krause

Program development and management

Portrait Eva Thull

Eva Thull

Communications, Government affairs

Newsletter subscription
Our free newsletter informs you about current calls for proposals, events and projects on rare diseases.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram