11.11.2022
ALLIANCE4RARE: CLINICIAN SCIENTISTS IN PORTRAIT

Dr. Nina-Christine Knopf, Gustav-Carus Universitätsklinik Dresden

Rare diseases affect children and adolescents in eight out of ten cases. Their participation in medical progress therefore depends crucially on committed pediatricians who are dedicated to the balancing act between bedside and laboratory. In order to prepare pediatric researchers for this demanding task and to provide them with the necessary freedom for scientific work at a high level, the research network Alliance4Rare initiated by the Eva Luise and Horst Köhler Foundation focuses among other things on structured Clinician Scientist Programs (CS4RARE). These programs provide participants with protected research time in which they can advance scientific projects on rare diseases without having to perform clinical tasks.

Some of the fellows who have recently started their work will introduce themselves and their projects.

Dear Dr. Knopf, you have been selected for the Clinician Scientist Program of Alliance4Rare. What motivated you to take this particular path in science and clinical practice?

During my residency training at a large pediatric hospital, I came into contact with rare diseases early on, including diseases of the immune system. During my training as a pediatric rheumatologist, my focus was on autoinflammatory diseases - both the genetically defined entities and those that can only be classified phenotypically. In children and adolescents with these complex phenotypes, autoinflammation and autoimmunity cannot always be clearly separated. To better understand the impaired regulation of inflammatory pathways, I have become increasingly involved with the topic of immune dysregulation and immune deficiency.

Since March 2022, I have been working with great enthusiasm in pediatric immunology and in an interdisciplinary team. There is a close connection between clinical work and research, which makes the subject so interesting. New disease-causing variants are constantly being found and new disease entities are being described. Thus, the number of definable diseases of the immune system is increasing every year. This is reflected, among other things, in the expansion of the groups in the classification of the International Union of Immunological Societies (IUIS), which was recently expanded to include the monogenetic autoinflammatory entities and diseases with bone marrow failure.

What are you currently working on and what would you like to achieve?

Currently, I work at the University Center for Rare Diseases (USE) and in the Department of Pediatric Immunology at the University Hospital Carl Gustav Carus at the TU Dresden. 

My research focus is on autoinflammatory diseases and the search for new biomarkers to predict disease relapses and to improve therapy management. Among other things, we are analyzing gene expression in children with SURF (systemic undefined recurrent fever) in collaboration with colleagues from Würzburg and Luxembourg.

I very much hope that by establishing new biomarkers in combination with exome or genome diagnostics, we will accelerate the diagnosis of these diseases, which are generally very rare and in some cases difficult to diagnose. This will enable us to provide the children with targeted therapy more quickly.

What opportunities does the support provided by the Alliance4Rare Clinician Scientist Program open up for you in your day-to-day work which you would not have otherwise?

The Alliance4Rare offers me the unique opportunity to devote sufficient time to complex patients, in addition to my specialist work in the special consultation hour or in my campus-wide consultative work, in order to accelerate the diagnosis of a rare disease. Just this week, we were able to diagnose an autosomal recessive inherited disease in an adolescent, which will open up new therapeutic avenues and, in the future, enable the affected person to enjoy a better quality of life with fewer inpatient stays and reintegration into everyday education. 

Without this funding, it would not be possible for me to take care of the functional evidence in vitro for gene variants that have not yet been described and not - as in the past - "file away" the unclear finding in the file. This is because the exclusion of a monogenetic rare disease is also important information for the patient and the practitioner.

Die STIPENDIATin
Dr. Nina-Christine Knopf studied human medicine at the University of Hamburg and the Friedrich Wilhelm University in Bonn. She completed her training as a specialist in pediatric and adolescent medicine and as a pediatric rheumatologist at the Children's Hospital Amsterdamerstraße in Cologne. Since March 2022, Ms. Knopf has been involved in the University Center for Rare Diseases (Prof. Dr. Reinhard Berner and Prof. Dr. Min Ae Lee-Kirsch) and the Department of Pediatric Immunology (Prof. Dr. Catharina Schütz) at the Gustav-Carus University Hospital Dresden.
Porträtbild Dr. Nina-Christine Knopf
Dr. Nina-Christine Knopf, Clinician Scientist der Alliance4Rare
Foto: Dr. Nina-Christine Knopf
Newsletter subscription
Our free newsletter informs you four times a year about current calls for proposals, events and projects on rare diseases.

11.11.2022
ALLIANCE4RARE: CLINICIAN SCIENTISTS IM PORTRÄT

Dr. Nina-Christine Knopf, Gustav-Carus Universitätsklinik Dresden

Seltene Erkrankungen betreffen in acht von zehn Fällen Kinder und Jugendliche. Ihre Teilhabe am medizinischen Fortschritt hängt daher ganz entscheidend von engagierten Pädiater:innen ab, die sich dem Spagat zwischen Krankenbett und Labor mit Hingabe stellen. Um forschende Kinderärzt:innen auf diese anspruchsvolle Aufgabe vorzubereiten und ihnen die nötigen Freiräume für wissenschaftliches Arbeiten auf hohem Niveau zu verschaffen, setzt das von der Eva Luise und Horst Köhler Stiftung initiierte Forschungsnetzwerk Alliance4Rare unter anderem auch auf strukturierte Clinician Scientist Programme (CS4RARE). Diese ermöglichen den Teilnehmenden geschützte Forschungszeiten, in denen sie von klinischen Aufgaben freigestellt wissenschaftliche Projekte zu Seltenen Erkrankungen vorantreiben können.

Einige der Stipendiat:innen, die kürzlich ihre Arbeit aufgenommen haben, stellen sich und ihre Projekte vor.

Liebe Frau Dr. Knopf, Sie sind für das Clinician Scientist-Programm der Alliance4Rare ausgewählt worden. Was hat Sie motiviert, diesen besonderen Weg in Wissenschaft und Klinik einzuschlagen?

Im Rahmen meiner Facharztausbildung an einer großen Kinderklinik bin ich früh mit Seltenen Erkrankungen in Berührung gekommen, unter anderem auch mit Erkrankungen des Abwehrsystems. Während der Weiterbildung zur Kinderheumatologin lag mein Schwerpunkt auf den autoinflammatorischen Erkrankungen - sowohl den genetisch definierten als auch den nur phänotypisch einzuordnenden Entitäten. Bei Kindern und Jugendlichen mit diesen komplexen Phänotypen sind nicht immer Autoinflammation und Autoimmunität klar voneinander zu trennen. Um die gestörte Regulation der Entzündungwege besser zu verstehen, habe ich mich zunehmend mehr mit dem Thema Immundysregulation und Immunschwäche beschäftigt.

Seit März 2022 arbeite ich mit großer Begeisterung in der pädiatrischen Immunologie und in einem interdisziplinären Team. Dabei besteht eine enge Verbindung zwischen klinischer Arbeit und Forschung, die das Fach so interessant werden lässt. Es werden stetig neue krankheitsverursachende Varianten gefunden und neue Krankheitsentitäten beschrieben. Jährlich nimmt so die Anzahl der definierbaren Erkrankungen des Immunsystems zu. Das zeigt sich unter anderem an der Erweiterung der Gruppen in der Klassifikation der International Union of Immunological Societies (IUIS), die kürzlich um die monogenetischen Autoinflammationsentitäten und Erkrankungen mit Knochenmarkversagen erweitert wurde.

Woran arbeiten Sie momentan und was möchten Sie erreichen?

Aktuell arbeite ich am UniversitätsCentrum für Seltene Erkrankungen (USE) sowie im Fachbereich Pädiatrische Immunologie des Universitätsklinikums Carl Gustav Carus an der TU Dresden. 

Mein Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt bei den Autoinflammatorischen Erkrankungen und der Suche nach neuen Biomarkern, um sowohl Krankheitsschübe vorhersagen zu können als auch eine bessere Therapiesteuerung zu ermöglichen. Unter anderem analysieren wir gemeinsam mit Kollegen aus Würzburg und Luxemburg die Genexpression bei Kindern mit SURF (systemic undefined recurrent fever oder systemisches rekurrierendes Fiebersydrom unklarer Ursache).

Ich hoffe sehr, dass wir mit der Etablierung neuer Biomarker in Kombination mit Exom- bzw. Genomdiagnostik die Diagnosestellung dieser insgesamt sehr seltenen und zum Teil schwer zu diagnostizierenden Erkrankungen beschleunigen werden. Damit können wir den Kindern schneller eine zielgerichtete Therapie zukommen lassen.

Welche Möglichkeiten eröffnet Ihnen die Unterstützung durch das das Clinician Scientist-Programm der Alliance4Rare im Arbeitsalltag, die Sie sonst nicht hätten?

Die Alliance4Rare bietet mir die einmalige Chance, neben meiner fachärztlichen Tätigkeit in der Spezialsprechstunde bzw. bei meiner campusweiten Konsiliartätigkeit, komplexen Patienten ausreichend Zeit zu widmen, um die Diagnosestellung einer Seltenen Erkrankung zu beschleunigen. Erst diese Woche konnten wir bei einem Jugendlichen eine autosomal rezessiv vererbte Erkrankung diagnostizieren, die neue Therapiewege eröffnet und dem Betroffenen perspektivisch eine bessere Lebensqualität mit weniger stationären Aufenthalten und Reintegration in den Ausbildungsalltag ermöglichen wird. 

Ohne diese Förderung wäre es mir nicht möglich, mich bei noch nicht beschriebenen Genvarianten um die funktionelle Beweisführung in vitro zu kümmern und den unklaren Befund nicht – wie in der Vergangenheit – in die Akte „abzuheften“. Denn auch der Ausschluss einer monogenetischen Seltenen Erkrankung ist eine wichtige Information für Patient und Behandler.

Die STIPENDIATin
Dr. Nina-Christine Knopf hat an der Universität zu Hamburg sowie an der Friedrich-Wilhelm-Universität Bonn Humanmedizin studiert. Ihre Ausbildung zur Fachärztin für Kinder- und Jugendmedizin sowie zur Kinderrheumatologin absolvierte sie in der Kinderklinik Amsterdamerstraße in Köln. Seit März 2022 engagiert sich Frau Knopf im UniversitätsCentrum für Seltene Erkrankungen (Prof. Dr. Reinhard Berner und Prof. Dr. Min Ae Lee-Kirsch) sowie im Fachbereich pädiatrische Immunologie (Prof. Dr. Catharina Schütz) an der Gustav-Carus Universitätsklinik Dresden.
Porträtbild Dr. Nina-Christine Knopf
Dr. Nina-Christine Knopf, Clinician Scientist der Alliance4Rare
Foto: Dr. Nina-Christine Knopf
Newsletter Anmeldung
Unser kostenloser Newsletter informiert Sie viermal im Jahr über aktuelle Ausschreibungen, Veranstaltungen und Projekte zu Seltenen Erkrankungen.