ORGANIZATION

The people 
 commited to the foundation

Our foundation work lives from people who act out of deep conviction and invest their knowledge and time to sustainably improve the medical care of children and adults with a rare disease. The committees of the Eva Luise and Horst Köhler Foundation work purely on a voluntary basis.

Executive Board

Portrait Prof. Dr. Annette Grüters-Kieslich

Prof. Dr. med. Annette Grüters-Kieslich

As a research-oriented pediatrician and adolescent physician, Prof. Dr. med. Annette Grüters-Kieslich has been committed to improving medical care for patients with rare diseases since her student days - whether at the bedside, in the laboratory, lecture hall, university administration or in one of her many honorary offices. 

After heading various medical institutions and holding positions as Dean of the University Medical Center Berlin and Senior Medical Director of the University Hospital Heidelberg, Annette Grüters-Kieslich, now retired, is again conducting research as a visiting scientist at the Charité Berlin. Her research focuses on rare congenital developmental disorders, pathophysiology and treatment of rare childhood obesity, and epigenetic regulation of developmentally important genes. 

As Chair of the Board of our Foundation, she has been the strategic head of our diverse initiatives since 2013. She is also active in an honorary capacity as a member of the DFG Senate Commission for Clinical Research, Vice President of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW), member of the Medical Sciences Committee of Science Europe and Vice President of the All European Academies (ALLEA).

Achim Schroeter

Achim Schroeter hat, wie die Stifterfamilie, persönliche Bezüge zum Thema und gehörte 2006 als ehemaliger Verwaltungsleiter des Deutschen Sparkassen- und Giroverbands zu den Gründungsvätern der Stiftung. Seither wirkt er mit Umsicht in deren Vorstand mit. Hier zeichnet er insbesondere für juristische und administrative Fragen und die Verwaltung des Stiftungsvermögens sowie der Spenden- und Fördermittel verantwortlich.

Foundation Council

Eva Luise Köhler (Chairwoman)

Dr. Ulrike Kristina Köhler

Literary scholar and honorary jury member of the HanseMerkur Prize for Child Protection

Dr. med. Herbert Bauer

Retired ear, nose and throat specialist

Ortwin Guhl

Retired Chairman of the Board of Directors of Sparkasse Tuttlingen, Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Church Aid Fund of the Diocese of Rottenburg-Stuttgart, Member of the Board of Trustees of the World Heritage Site Insel Reichenau

Dietmar Kokott

Retired Global Head of Human Resources for Senior Leadership at BASF SE, Retired Vice Chairman of the Human Resources Global Council, Retired Chairman of the Board of Executive Directors and Member of the Board of Trustees of the Wittenberg Center for Global Ethics, Member of the Advisory Board of the Leadership Excellence Institute at Zeppelin University, Friedrichshafen, Germany

Scientific advisory council

The Eva Luise and Horst Köhler Foundation has been cooperating for many years with the scientific advisory council of ACHSE e.V., which is responsible for screening, evaluating, and preselecting the incoming applications for the Eva Luise Köhler Research Award.

Other renowned scientists support us with their expertise and expert opinions when necessary, e.g. when awarding scholarships.

Staff

Sanna Börgel

Office management, press and public relations

+49 (0) 151 4129 7774
boergel@elhks.de

Dr. phil. Franziska Krause

Program development and management

+49 (0) 151 5082 7392
krause@elhks.de

Eva Thull

Communications, Government affairs

+49 (0) 177 6645264
thull@elhks.de

Newsletter subscription
Our free newsletter informs you four times a year about current calls for proposals, events and projects on rare diseases.

ORGANISATION

Die Menschen 
 hinter der Stiftung

Unsere Stiftungsarbeit lebt von Menschen, die aus tiefer Überzeugung handeln und ihr Wissen und ihre Zeit investieren, um die medizinische Versorgung von Kindern und Erwachsenen mit einer Seltenen Erkrankung nachhaltig zu verbessern. Die Gremien der Eva Luise und Horst Köhler Stiftung arbeiten rein ehrenamtlich.

Vorstand

Portrait Prof. Dr. Annette Grüters-Kieslich

Prof. Dr. med. Annette Grüters-Kieslich

Prof. Dr. med. Annette Grüters-Kieslich setzt sich als forschungsorientierte Kinder- und Jugendärztin schon seit Studientagen für eine bessere medizinische Versorgung von Patient:innen mit Seltenen Erkrankungen ein – egal, ob am Krankenbett, in Labor, Hörsaal, Hochschulverwaltung oder in einem ihrer vielen Ehrenämter. 

Nach der Leitung verschiedener medizinischer Einrichtungen und Stationen als Dekanin der Universitätsmedizin Berlin sowie als Leitende Ärztliche Direktorin des Universitätsklinikums Heidelberg forscht Annette Grüters-Kieslich, heute pensioniert, als Gastwissenschaftlerin wieder an der Charité Berlin. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte sind seltene angeborene Entwicklungsstörungen, Pathophysiologie und Behandlung seltener Adipositasformen im Kindesalter und die epigenetische Regulation von entwicklungsbiologisch wichtigen Genen. 

Als Vorstandsvorsitzende unserer Stiftung ist sie seit 2013 der strategische Kopf unserer vielfältigen Initiativen. Ehrenamtlich engagiert sie sich darüber hinaus unter anderem als Mitglied der Senatskommission für klinische Forschung der DFG, Vizepräsidentin der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften (BBAW), Mitglied des Medical Sciences Committee von Science Europe und Vizepräsidentin der All European Academies (ALLEA).

Achim Schroeter

Achim Schroeter hat, wie die Stifterfamilie, persönliche Bezüge zum Thema und gehörte 2006 als ehemaliger Verwaltungsleiter des Deutschen Sparkassen- und Giroverbands zu den Gründungsvätern der Stiftung. Seither wirkt er mit Umsicht und Akribie in deren Vorstand mit. Hier zeichnet er insbesondere für juristische und administrative Fragen und die Verwaltung des Stiftungsvermögens sowie der Spenden- und Fördermittel verantwortlich.

Stiftungsrat

Eva Luise Köhler (Vorsitzende)

Dr. Ulrike Kristina Köhler

Literaturwissenschaftlerin und ehrenamtliches Jurymitglied des HanseMerkur Preises für Kinderschutz

Dr. med. Herbert Bauer

niedergelassener Hals-, Nasen-, Ohrenarzt i. R.

Ortwin Guhl

Vorsitzender des Vorstandes i. R. der Sparkasse Tuttlingen, Vorsitzender des Verwaltungsrats des Kirchlichen Hilfsfonds der Diözese Rottenburg-Stuttgart, Mitglied des Stiftungsrats Weltkulturerbe Insel Reichenau

Dietmar Kokott

Globaler Personalchef a.D. für die Obere Führung der BASF SE, Vice Chairman a.D. des Human Resources Global Council, Vorstandsvorsitzender a.D. und Kuratoriumsmitglied des Wittenberg-Zentrums für Globale Ethik, Beiratsmitglied des Leadership Excellence Institute der Zeppelin Universität Friedrichshafen

Wissenschaftlicher Beirat

Die Eva Luise und Horst Köhler Stiftung kooperiert seit vielen Jahren mit dem Wissenschaftlichen Beirat von ACHSE e.V., der die Sichtung, Bewertung und Vorauswahl der eingehenden Bewerbungen um den Eva Luise Köhler Forschungspreis übernimmt.

Anlassbezogen, z. B. bei der Vergabe von Stipendien, unterstützen uns weitere renommierte Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler mit ihrer Expertise und gutachterlichen Stellungnahmen.

Mitarbeitende

Sanna Börgel

Büroleitung, Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

+49 (0) 151 4129 7774
boergel@elhks.de

Dr. phil. Franziska Krause

Programmentwicklung und -management

+49 (0) 151 5082 7392
krause@elhks.de

Newsletter Anmeldung
Unser kostenloser Newsletter informiert Sie viermal im Jahr über aktuelle Ausschreibungen, Veranstaltungen und Projekte zu Seltenen Erkrankungen.