05.09.2022
Porträtfoto Dr. Felix Boschann
CS4RARE: CLINICIAN SCIENTISTS IN PORTRAIT

Dr. Felix Boschann, Charité Universitätsmedizin

Rare diseases affect children and adolescents in eight out of ten cases. Their participation in medical progress therefore depends crucially on committed pediatricians who are dedicated to the balancing act between bedside and laboratory. In order to prepare pediatric researchers for this demanding task and to provide them with the necessary freedom for scientific work at a high level, the research network Alliance4Rare initiated by the Eva Luise and Horst Köhler Foundation focuses among other things on structured Clinician Scientist Programs (CS4RARE). These programs provide participants with protected research time in which they can advance scientific projects on rare diseases without having to perform clinical tasks.

Some of the fellows who have recently started their work will introduce themselves and their projects.

Dear Dr. Boschann, you have been selected for the Clinician Scientist Program of Alliance4Rare. What motivated you to take this particular path in science and clinical practice?

For me, human genetics is the cross-sectional subject in medicine, as we do not only deal with one organ system, but try to understand the molecular basis of various diseases. I am particularly fascinated by the close connection between clinical work and research. 

We are in close interdisciplinary exchange with the other specialties and care for patients of all ages. The questions I deal with in the clinic are very diverse. In recent years, there have been great technological advances in the field of genetic diagnostics. As a result, new disease genes and disease mechanisms are being deciphered every year. We estimate that up to 80% of the more than 7000 rare diseases known to date have a monogenic cause and that another 6000 are still to be discovered. In addition, gene therapy strategies are currently being tested or have already been approved for an increasing number of monogenic disease patterns. Thus, there is hope that these rare diseases can not only be diagnosed, but also effectively treated in the future.

What are you currently working on and what would you like to achieve?

My research focus is on hereditary connective tissue diseases. A special focus is on syndromic and familial clustered aortic diseases. We are currently assembling a cohort of cases that have not received a molecular diagnosis to date, although they developed dilatation or dissection of the aorta comparatively early. In these cases, we provide genomic and transcriptomic analysis, meaning that we sequence a large portion of the genome in addition to the 20,000 genes and look for abnormalities in gene expression.

The aim is to find new mutations in known genes that have not yet been detected by conventional diagnostics and to detect new disease genes. In the best case, this will end the diagnostic odyssey for many patients. At the same time, we see that molecular results have a major impact on individual patient management and risk assessment within the family. In addition to this translational benefit, we hope to find basic science insights into the molecular mechanisms of aortic aneurysm development.

Overall, I would like to see the status of genomic medicine, which is the basis for precision medicine, strengthened so that more patients have access to genomic analysis.

What opportunities does the support provided by the Alliance4Rare Clinician Scientist Program open up for you in your day-to-day work which you would not have otherwise?

The program allows me to spend 50% of my working time over the next three years creating and maintaining the cohort. I see the families in my office hours, collect the samples, and in further steps can evaluate the genomic data and validate exciting variants in the laboratory. I am released from other clinical activities for this time. Without the funding, this research project would not be feasible as pure "after-work research" in the daily university routine of an assistant physician. 

THE FELLOW
Dr. Felix Boschann studied medicine at the Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin and is currently in residency training as a human geneticist at the Institute of Medical Genetics and Human Genetics there. Within the Clinician Scientist for Rare program, Dr. Boschann was able to convince with the project "Genome sequencing in hereditary connective tissue diseases". The funding period runs from July 2022 to 2025.
Platzhalterbild Forscher Zeichnung
Dr. Felix Boschann, fellow of the CS4RARE program
Foto: Dr. Felix Boschann
Newsletter subscription
Our free newsletter informs you four times a year about current calls for proposals, events and projects on rare diseases.

05.09.2022
Porträtfoto Dr. Felix Boschann
CS4RARE: CLINICIAN SCIENTISTS IM PORTRÄT

Dr. Felix Boschann, Charité Universitätsmedizin

Seltene Erkrankungen betreffen in acht von zehn Fällen Kinder und Jugendliche. Ihre Teilhabe am medizinischen Fortschritt hängt daher ganz entscheidend von engagierten Pädiater:innen ab, die sich dem Spagat zwischen Krankenbett und Labor mit Hingabe stellen. Um forschende Kinderärzt:innen auf diese anspruchsvolle Aufgabe vorzubereiten und ihnen die nötigen Freiräume für wissenschaftliches Arbeiten auf hohem Niveau zu verschaffen, setzt das von der Eva Luise und Horst Köhler Stiftung initiierte Forschungsnetzwerk Alliance4Rare unter anderem auch auf strukturierte Clinician Scientist Programme (CS4RARE). Diese ermöglichen den Teilnehmenden geschützte Forschungszeiten, in denen sie von klinischen Aufgaben freigestellt wissenschaftliche Projekte zu Seltenen Erkrankungen vorantreiben können.

Einige der Stipendiat:innen, die kürzlich ihre Arbeit aufgenommen haben, stellen sich und ihre Projekte vor.

Lieber Herr Dr. Boschann, Sie sind für das Clinician Scientist-Programm der Alliance4Rare ausgewählt worden. Was hat Sie motiviert, diesen besonderen Weg in Wissenschaft und Klinik einzuschlagen?

Die Humangenetik ist für mich das Querschnittsfach in der Medizin, da wir uns nicht nur mit einem Organsystem beschäftigen, sondern versuchen, die molekulare Grundlagen verschiedener Erkrankungen zu verstehen. Besonders fasziniert mich die enge Verbindung zwischen klinischer Arbeit und Forschung. 

Wir stehen im engen interdisziplinären Austausch mit den anderen Fachgebieten und betreuen Betroffene jeglichen Alters. Die Fragestellungen, mit denen ich mich in der Klinik beschäftige, sind sehr vielfältig. In den letzten Jahren gab es große technologische Fortschritte im Bereich der genetischen Diagnostik. Dadurch werden jedes Jahr neue Krankheitsgene und Krankheitsmechanismen entschlüsselt. Wir gehen davon aus, dass bis zu 80% der bislang bekannten mehr als 7000 Seltenen Erkrankungen eine monogene Ursache haben und noch weitere 6000 zu entdecken sind. Darüber hinaus werden aktuell für immer mehr monogene Krankheitsbilder gentherapeutische Strategien getestet oder sind bereits zugelassen. Damit besteht die Hoffnung, diese Seltenen Erkrankungen nicht nur diagnostizieren, sondern zukünftig auch effektiv behandeln zu können.

Woran arbeiten Sie momentan und was möchten Sie erreichen?

Mein Forschungsschwerpunkt sind erbliche Bindegewebserkrankungen. Ein spezieller Fokus liegt auf syndromalen und familiär gehäuft auftretenden Aortenerkrankungen. Wir stellen derzeit eine Kohorte von Fällen zusammen, die bislang keine molekulare Diagnose erhalten haben, obwohl sie vergleichsweise früh eine Erweiterung oder Dissektion der Aorta entwickelt haben. In diesen Fällen bieten wir eine Genom- und Transkriptom-Analyse an, das heißt wir sequenzieren neben den 20.000 Genen einen Großteil des Genoms und suchen nach Abweichungen der Genexpression.

Ziel ist es, neue Mutationen in bekannten Genen zu finden, die bislang mittels konventioneller Diagnostik nicht erfasst wurden und neue Krankheitsgene zu detektieren. Im besten Fall endet damit die diagnostische Odyssee für viele Betroffene. Gleichzeitig sehen wir, dass die molekularen Ergebnisse einen großen Einfluss auf das individuelle Patientenmanagement und die Risikoabklärung innerhalb der Familie haben. Neben diesem translationalen Nutzen erhoffen wir uns, grundlagenwissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse über die molekularen Mechanismen der Entstehung von Aortenaneurysmen zu finden.

Insgesamt wünsche ich mir, dass der Stellenwert der genomischen Medizin, die die Grundlage für eine Präzisionsmedizin ist, gestärkt wird und somit mehr Betroffene Zugang zur Genomanalyse erhalten.

Welche Möglichkeiten eröffnet Ihnen die Unterstützung durch das das Clinician Scientist-Programm der Alliance4Rare im Arbeitsalltag, die Sie sonst nicht hätten?

Durch das Programm kann ich 50% meiner Arbeitszeit über die nächsten drei Jahre mit der Erstellung und Betreuung der Kohorte verbringen. Ich sehe die Familien in meiner Sprechstunde, entnehme die Proben und kann in weiteren Schritten die Genomdaten auswerten und spannende Varianten im Labor validieren. Für diese Zeit bin ich von weiteren klinischen Tätigkeiten freigestellt. Ohne die Förderung wäre dieses Forschungsvorhaben als reine “Feierabendforschung” im universitären Alltag eines Assistenzarztes nicht umzusetzen. 

DER STIPENDIAT
Dr. Felix Boschann hat an der Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin Medizin studiert und befindet sich derzeit in der Facharztweiterbildung zum Humangenetiker am dortigen Institut für Medizinische Genetik und Humangenetik. Im Rahmen des Clinician Scientist for Rare Programms konnte Dr. Boschann mit dem Projekt „Genomsequenzierung bei hereditären Bindegewebserkrankungen“ überzeugen. Der Förderzeitraum erstreckt sich von Juli 2022 bis 2025.
Platzhalterbild Forscher Zeichnung
Dr. Felix Boschann, Clinician Scientist der Alliance4Rare
Foto: Dr. Felix Boschann
Newsletter Anmeldung
Unser kostenloser Newsletter informiert Sie viermal im Jahr über aktuelle Ausschreibungen, Veranstaltungen und Projekte zu Seltenen Erkrankungen.